Tags

,

Rosehill Cemetery in Chicago has so many beautiful markers! I’m grateful for my digital camera when I’m in places like this so I can take loads of photos. And yes, I posted about this same mausoleum in 2013. But this was a great opportunity to update with more info that I found.

This is the mausoleum for Louis M. Stumer, born in 1870 and died on July 14, 1919. It is found in Section Y at Rosehill Cemetery.

There is a short article from the Chicago Tribune that I found that states: “Louis M. Stumer, joint owner of the North American building and one of Chicago’s leading business men, died suddenly yesterday at New London, Conn., where he was visiting with his family. Acute indigestion was the cause.” This notes that he was the vice president of the Public Drug company, vice president of the Red Book magazine and part owner of a number of women’s garment and “millinery concerns.” If you’d like to learn more about him, there’s a lovely blog post from his great-granddaughter.

The really stunning element of this mausoleum is the perpetual mourner on the front. If you’re visiting on a cloudy day, she can be tricky to see:

But get closer and you’re rewarded with a beautiful mourner.

I found great info on Adventures in Cemetery Hopping about this mausoleum (and the Schaaf mausoleum, too) and they state that “The young woman on the front was sculpted by Czech-American artist Mario Korbel.” Per their post, “She was sculpted by Czech-American artist Mario Joseph Korbel (1882-1954), a native of Osik, Bohemia (now part of the Czech Republic).” Definitely check that link if you would like more info and different photos than my own.