Evergreen Cemetery-Red Wing-MN-Winters-Eugene-WWIIEvergreen Cemetery, Red Wing, MN.
The first thing I did when I was looking for more information about this man was to look up what all of those abbreviations meant.   I could figure out Private, Battery A, but wanted to know what the rest was.  On http://forums.military.com/, I found more information, as well as in this document by William C. Gaines: 577 would be the Division, AAA was “Antiaircraft Artillery,” AW = “Automatic weapons”, BN is “Battalion,” CAC = “Coastal Artillery Corps (the original branch of anti-aircraft artillery).”

Looking on Ancestry.com, I found a Eugene Winters in the 1940 census, living in Wabasha, MN (which isn’t too far from Red Wing).  His age is 28, and his occupation is listed as being a truck driver for a road company, and the census record shows he has a wife, Alberta, and one son, Dean, and two daughters, Marion and Arlene.  I also saw that there were other families with the same last name, which included Harold Winters.  Harold Winters is buried near Eugene, and I will do a post on him at a later date.  From this census record, it looks like Harold would have been a nephew (?) of Eugene’s.  Going backwards, the 1930 census shows Eugene as single, living in Wabasha, the third child of John and Matilda Winters (both hailing originally from Sweden).   I did find the marriage record for Eugene and Alberta, apparently from Decorah, Iowa.  That record shows Eugene, aged 23 and a farmer by occupation, married Alberta Peterson, aged 17.  Both were showing a residence of Weaver, Minnesota (which makes me wonder about why this record is from Decorah, Iowa).

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find any more information.   And, sadly, I did find the obituary of Arlene Winters, who passed away on March 17, 2013.

I am always interested in learning more, both about service in war, and about anyone that I am posting about — please feel free to leave a comment!

(many thanks to JPfromTN on this forum, who posted very helpful information!)