Their names caught my eye in the Oakwood Cemetery in Red Wing, MN:

Oakwood Cemetery-Red Wing-MN-Hill-Africa Oakwood Cemetery-Red Wing-MN-Hill-Celinda

And even though the stones were damaged, I wondered if I could find anything out about these two.   Find a Grave listed this information:  Africa: b. unknown d. Oct. 26, 1863; Celinda: b. unknown d. Nov. 26, 1873

So, I turned to Ancestry.com and found that Africa was listed in the Cemetery Inscription Index as “Age 66 with Celinda and Waldow W.”  The 1857 census information shows Africa Hill, a farmer, aged 53, living in Goodhue County.  The census image was a bit tricky to make out, but it looks like Celinda (spelled as Selinda) is listed as his wife, age 55.  The record also shows 3 children: Dillos (?spelling), Lydia and Waldo.

The 1860 census is clearer, with the information showing Africa aged 54, his wife, Celinda, aged 54 and their children: Delas, Waldow, Julia and Lydia.

I did see that there are other Hills listed in this census record above Africa’s information, which makes me wonder if there was a brother with another farm in this area.

By the time of the 1870 census, Celinda is shown alone.