I didn’t take the best photo when I visited the Riverside Cemetery in Noblesville, IN.  Riverside Cem-Ferguson-Archibald

But I liked the eagle detail on the stone.   Today, I tried to find out some information about this man … and I really didn’t get very far.   Between Ancestry and Find a Grave, I found that Archibald Glenn Ferguson was born in 1816 in Kentucky, and died on March 26, 1883 in Murfreesboro, TN.

Here is a much better close-up photo of the inscription, courtesy of SunCacher on Find a Grave.    But I still wondered why, if this man died in Tennessee, why this stone is here in Indiana.   And I couldn’t find any information at all.

I did look to see if there were any Civil War battles in Murfreesboro and found that there was a particular ferocious one, The Battle of Stones River, which lasted from December 31, 1862 to January 2, 1863.   While I don’t know if Mr. Ferguson was there, it would make sense to me that he was — and I’m thinking that perhaps he died from injuries sustained in the battle.  However, I still have no idea why he was brought back to Indiana (or at least, that this stone is here).