Tags

,

Since it is 11/11, I wanted to post a military grave photo today. Welcome to Taphophile Tragics — and please do post your own links. It’s always nice to see where other people are taking photographs. So, thank you for visiting!

I have had no success getting the script tool from LinkyTools or from Inlinkz to work properly, so I’m still doing the open-the-links-in-a-new-tab thing (which I do not like). If anyone out there has any ideas why the script is disappearing when I save my drafts, I am open to ideas and suggestions.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Calamus-George-black panthers.JPG

My photo today comes from Elmwood Cemetery in River Grove, Illinois. This marker caught my eye because it mentions World War II and The Black Panthers.

Looking for Mr. Calamus, I found him on the 1940 census, where he listed as being employed as a machinist, married to Calleen, and with sons James and Lewis. His enlistment record shows that he enlisted on March 24, 1944 and was released on November 21, 1945.

I looked up the Black Panthers, and because Mr. Calamus was in the U.S. Army, I am thinking he was in the 66th Infantry Division, which had a campaign in northern France.  I found information on this division on this page, as well as a Wikipedia entry. There was also a tank battalion called the Black Panthers, but since that was made up primarily of African-American soldiers, and on the census, Mr. Calamus’ race is listed as White, I thought he was perhaps in the 66th Infrantry Division.    However, I wasn’t able to find much information about Mr. Calamus on Ancestry.com, so I’m not sure.