We visited several cemeteries this past weekend, and I’ve just finished sorting through the photos.  Concordia Cemetery has a number of angels, so I thought I’d share one of them today.
Lossmann angel 1.JPG

Henry (10/2/1854 – 5/6/1932) and Friedericka (10/27/1861 – 12/7/1932) Lossman.   I found them in the 1880 census, which shows Henry married to “Ricka” and both of them from Prussia.  Henry’s occupation is listed as a painter, and their child of one month, Augusta, is also listed on the record.    Interestingly, by the time we reach the 1900 census, where both of them are listed, their birthplaces are listed as Germany.  This does make sense, considering the history of Prussia — I just thought it was interesting to see this change between the two censuses.   In the 1900 census, the Lossmans have more children.  In addition to Augusta, there are Frederick, Anna and Ruth.

Lossmann-Henry.JPG

Moving along to the 1910 census, Anna and Ruth are still living with their parents, although Anna is now listed as Anna Miller.   By 1920, it’s just Henry, Friedericka and Ruth.  Henry’s occupation is still listed as a painter, and Ruth’s shows as being a milliner.   By 1930, the census just shows Henry and Friedericka.

I like to think about this couple, being young, and having children, and moving through the years of their life.  When I see markers for people whose lives span timelines like this, I often think about all of the things they would have seen change in their lifetimes.  Mostly, I consider technological changes, and how quickly things seem to progress.