Tags

This is the tomb of Ottaviano Fabrizio Mossati, in the Camposanto Monumentale in Pisa, Italy.   I thought the figure on top was especially striking, and I photographed her from many angles.  This photo shows the entire face of the tomb, and although some of it has been worn away, I was able to find a bit of information about him.   He was born in Novara on April 18th, 1791 and died on March 20, 1863.  He was an Italian physicist and mathematician, and though he apparently was exiled from Italy at one point, his tomb is here in Pisa.

I did note on the front that there is an inscription noting the artiface of the monument was done by Giovanni Dupre’, so I went looking for information on him and found something on Wikipedia, which says, “Giovanni Duprè (1 March 1817 – 10 January 1882) was an Italian sculptor, of distant French stock long settled in Tuscany, who developed a reputation second only to his contemporary Lorenzo Bartolini“.   He’s also mentioned briefly in the New Catholic Encyclopedia.  Definitely a big artist of the time, and I can see why — this sculpture is exquisite.

*************************************************************

Welcome to the 3rd week of Taphophile Tragics on this blog.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

I am following the same rules for this meme that Julie had set up, and have all the information on my page for Taphophile Tragics.   Please ensure that you include some details of the cemetery in which you took your photographs, and link directly to your post, rather than simply to your blog in general. This week, Mr Linky opens at 10:00 PM Monday, Chicago time (Central time, USA), and closes at 10:00 PM on the Friday.

I’m looking forward to hosting, and seeing everyone’s posts.  If you have any questions or comments about my hosting (or anything else), please leave a comment or send me an email (Liquidityoftime @ gmail dot com)